The Weekly Avocado

July 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

Summer fruit = Baking Pies 🙂

All this summer fruit from the farmers markets right now is unbelievable… the blackberries, cherries, nectarines, peaches, plums, and apricots. I’ve being buying enough to feed an army, and of course I wouldn’t want to waste, so… pie/crisp/crumble/tart making has begun!

This blackberry and cherry crisp from Cannelle et Vanille is pretty tasty! I love this website for desserts, she always has great healthy desserts that don’t usually require a ton of ingredients and are still super yummy.

I’ve never made a galette before, so I looked at a few recipes and kind of winged it… and actually it turned out great! Here is a recipe from The Pastry Affair and the cookbook Good to the Grain has a good recipe as well.

This cherry cobbler from 101 Cookbooks looks pretty insane too, and I always love her pies and cakes… just the right amount of sweet. I’m thinking I should probably try this one out next week!

Mmm, or this Macaroon Cherry Tart… yum! And again, not a ton of ingredients which always appeals to me!

I’m a big cobbler fan & love the Peach/Blueberry combo… this cobbler from Smitten Kitchen is de-lish! Caitlin and I made it the other weekend after a farmers market adventure and it was well received by the boys!

And since we’ve been on a pie kick, I have been wanting to try out Three Babes Bakeshop… So I ordered up a Peach Plum Lattice for my sis for the weekend!

Well enjoy… hopefully your inspired to do some baking over the weekend!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Weekly Avocado at CARROTTALK.

meta

