The Weekly Avocado

August 2, 2012 § Leave a comment

Who’s hungry? Let’s chat about some places in the city I am dying to try… they have been on my list and life has just gotten in the way lately.

Ken Ken Ramen: this place has been written up a ton, and people have said it’s great.  Looks delicious and super clean and fresh (which isn’t always ramen style)… who doesn’t love a hearty bowl of ramen. Dying to try!

AQ: Still have not been, heard the food is amazing, great place to sit at the bar with a date – husband/friend/anyone – (which I’m always into). The restaurant is very seasonally focused, inventive and special… they are all over the summer squash, apricots and corn these days… as am I. The atmosphere looks fun & different, worth checking out.

Del Popolo: Mobile Pizza. This is one legit looking food truck. It’s pretty cool (i’ve seen it in person) and the pizza is definitely going to be good… rustic, italian inspired pies from a wood-burning oven, what’s not to love?

Namu Gaji: new Indian spot that opened in the mission. I read about it in SF Magazine, and this picture sold me… I love Indian food & need more of it in my life.

Southpaw BBQ: I’ve been really enjoying the southern foods lately… brisket, ribs, beans cornbread… yes, please! I’ve read about this place a few times and checked out their menu which looks kind of awesome. I’ve also walked by it and barely noticed it… super simple and nondescript, which makes me think they are most concerned with the food.

Wise Sons Deli: This place has gotten all the buzz… the pastrami sandwich is apparently amazing (i don’t even know if i like pastrami??) and the bagel & lox has gotten some hype as well. The menu is much more than a typical “deli” too… breakfast/brunch looks de-lish! I don’t know but for some reason I really want to give this one a try.

(not entirely sure what this is, but also has been mentioned in every article I’ve read about… sign me up!)

Okay people, that’s all I’ve got for now… I’m on a mission to check these off my list very soon, I’ll let you know. Any other new spots worth a try? I always love having more excuses to eat – research, right?

Enjoy the weekend, it’s almost here!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Weekly Avocado at CARROTTALK.

meta

