The Weekly Avocado

October 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

*by catie (inspired by Pam)

This weather is making me crave soup and stews. I’ve had it all week… Butternut squash & black bean, the best beef stew made by Jimmy, picked up chicken pho last night. It’s turing into fall everywhere and having soup is so comforting and satisfying. Here are some good ones to try over the weekend. I want to get into making them in the crockpot, apparently very easy… throw it all together in the morning and it’s ready when you get home, sounds good to me.

Beef Stew, adapted from food52… Jimmy obviously added a few special ingredients!

 

This delicious chili was a recent treat from Caitlin, who cooks all things great… on a brisk SF evening… so perfect. I love chili and cornbread, of course! We both love Rancho Gordo beans & use them often… they are the best around.

Butternut Squash & Black Bean Soup from one of my fav’s, Sprouted Kitchen. The fixings on the top are essential (homemade tortillas never hurts!). I added some sauerkraut too, always 😉

I have been craving this since I posted it last week… 

Chicken noodle soup is always a good one. If your feeling a little cold coming on or a little down, there is nothing better. Smitten Kitchen just posted this one.

I love this lentil soup from 101 Cookbooks. It’s an older recipe of her’s so I’ve been making it for years… it’s perfect to have around for lunch on cold days.

And this lentil soup was great, made with coconut milk & indian spices. Missy made it last week for us for lunch… pretty tasty!

Okay thats all I’ve got for now. What’s your favorite winter soup… anything I need to try? Enjoy the weekend, it’s almost here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Weekly Avocado at CARROTTALK.

meta

