this one’s for the ladies:

April 4, 2013 § Leave a comment

*by catie

Let’s discuss the never ending beauty maintenance we all deal with. Clothes only take you so far… we need the core goods to make those outfits amazing; i.e. hair, face, skin, body. The problem here is that this all gets rather pricey and time consuming, there are only so many hours in the day/week… takes a lot to stay on top of it all, and who has time for a million appointments during the week?

These are some of my favorite “pampering” or maintaing tools that I use on a regular basis that keep me feeling glowing (or so I’d like to think!)

1 – hair: give your hair an oil soak at least 2x a month. i love the Rodin Hair Oil we carry here at CARROTS, but I also use olive or coconut oil. Just rub some mainly on the ends (too much near the scalp gets greasy) and keep it in for a few hours at night, sometimes I leave it in overnight. You can put it on before your bath or on a sunday that your just lounging around the house. It seriously helps keep your ends silky and soft looking, without have to get a conditioning treatment that costs $$$

2 – face: i’ve been going back and fourth the last year with what products to use, and still haven’t found anything I’m sold on. I like the idea of using all natural products on my face, but finding the right one has proven a challenge. I have honestly found over the past year that less is more. I’ve always put a million products on my face… anti- this & that… but my skin seems to respond best lately when I ease up on the gels, serums, and lotions. To stay hydrated throughout the day I’ve been addicted to rose water spray. You can easily buy it online or make your own! I love the rose water, but any herbal water is lovely… orange, rosemary, lavender. I’ve been using and really liking rms beauty products that are all natural and easy for everyday use. I tend to resort to my not so natural products like Diorshow mascara and Nars eyeshadows when I’m feeling like amping it up for a night out. I just found these new skincare products that I’m testing out from May Lindstrom … they are all natural, supposedly great for sensitive skin, all made by hand in LA.

3 – skin: i know I’ve been down this road before, but a great bath can really do wonders for skin & body. In the bath i love to mix in some great mineral bath salts, along with some magnesium flakes. If your body is in need of a little detox, add in a cup of raw apple cider vinegar to help draw out toxins in the body. I never forget to add some essential oils like mandarin (relieves anxiety & calming for the skin), lavender (relaxing) and clary sage (calming & uplifting). Before you get in the bath rub down with some coconut oil, it helps keep the skin hydrated during the bath… then follow up by a heavy creamy moisturizer, your skin will feel amazing! I’ve been experimenting with making my own… don’t quite have one perfected yet, but think: raw cocoa butter, beeswax, coconut and olive oil, and essential oils… when one comes out perfect, I’ll share the recipe.

4 – body: we all pretty much know what to do here. Eat a well-balanced, healthy, whole foods diet, get some regular exercise in the routine and be good to yourself. I make smoothies a few times a week that always make me feel great. Spinach, kale, banana, orange and some ginger is all it takes (switch it up with whatever is in season!)… all that natural fiber and greens can really help the skin & body feel good. Peppermint tea is always in my purse… its great for any inflammation in the body and great on the digestive system. Most of us are deficient in vitamin D, I like to have some on hand to add a few drops to my water bottle. I love doing yoga, makes my body and mind feel great… I even have Jimmy addicted these days. Oh, and my favorite hand sanitizer that Genevieve and I found at the ferry building, can’t be without it.

ok. all for now. enjoy.

f2e0e35ca9c4e1811844688abb2274e9

ccb36172b0b6b4ddfe42223a7b39f6b2

fbbd24a31ae42ac8d92c2f1f00c09a7b

237ca7e3b5c2e975139c7b682ef25dfc

14f19a002d9123e93d449eaf777147ad

63b99a3a40c78f3d9ec73a6d5fdbddcc

f7b07613c13f90f540bf543ef15c96d1

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading this one’s for the ladies: at CARROTTALK.

meta

